Thursday, October 31, 2013

World Champion Boston Red Sox

For the third time during my tenure as register of deeds I've been able to say "World Champion Boston Red Sox."  That's a privilege that only one of my predecessors has had.  William Purcell was elected Register of Deeds of the Middlesex North District in 1909 and served until 1934 during which time the Red Sox won the World Series four times - in 1912, 1915, 1916 and 1918.  (They won their first in 1903). 

For the record, the Boston Red Sox won the World Series at 11:23 last night with the final out of game six in which the Sox defeated the St. Louis Cardinals, 6 to 1.  That was the fourth victory against two defeats in this series for the Red Sox so now they are world champions who will be honored by a Duck Boat parade this Saturday. 

While those living a century ago may have experienced an extra World Series victory, there can be no argument that we are living in the golden age of Boston sports.  Consider this:

  1. February 3, 2002: Patriots beat St. Louis Rams in Super Bowl XXXVI
  2. February 1, 2004: Patriots beat Carolina Panthers in Super Bowl XXXVIII
  3. October 27, 2004: Red Sox beat St. Louis Cardinals to win World Series
  4. February 6, 2005: Patriots beat Philadelphia Eagles to win Super Bowl XXXIX
  5. October 28, 2007: Red Sox beat Colorado Rockies to win World Series
  6. June 17, 2008: Celtics beat Los Angeles Lakers to win NBA title
  7. June 15, 2011: Bruins beat Vancouver Canucks to win Stanley Cup
  8. October 30, 2013: Red Sox beat St. Louis Cardinals to win World Series
Add to these accomplishments these near-misses:
  1.  February 3, 2008: Patriots lose to New York Giants in Super Bowl XLII
  2. April 14, 2010: Celtics lose to Los Angeles Lakers in NBA finals
  3. February 5, 2012: Patriots lose to New York Giants in Super Bowl XLVI
 And you have a pretty good run.

1 comment:

Jeff Welch said...

You missed a near miss.

4. June 24, 2013: Bruins lose to Chicago Blackhawks in the Stanley Cup finals.

And if you're inclined to count soccer, The Revolution have made it to the MLS Cup finals four times since 2002. Unfortunately, they lost all four times.